Skip to content Skip to navigation

Healthcare overview

What kind of healthcare is available in Estonia?

The Estonian Health Insurance Fund (EHIF; Haigekassa in Estonian) pays your medical bills if you have an employment contract in Estonia and your employer is paying social taxes on you.

The Estonian health insurance system is a solidarity-based social insurance system. This means it provides healthcare for everyone. The services are provided according to the needs of insured persons, and treatment is equally available in all regions.

 Some of the companies that provide health insurance for foreigners are:


Information about the EHIF voluntary insurance

Who is eligible for Estonian health insurance?

All Estonian residents who work and whose employer pays the required social tax on them automatically get Estonian health insurance (after registering place of residence in here).

The health insurance also includes the right to receive benefits for temporary incapacity for work.

People automatically covered by the Estonian health insurance, are: 

– pregnant women,

– children and young adults up to the age of 19,

– old-age pensioners,

– students.

If you are self-employed, you have to pay your own social tax from which 13% is transferred into health insurance. 

What if I am not eligible for the Estonian health insurance?

All people living in Estonia with a temporary residence permit must be covered by insurance during their entire stay. If you are not eligible for state insurance, you must purchase it from a private provider. 

It is also possible to purchase the health insurance from EHIF, but only if you have been insured by them for 12 months within the past 2 years or someone who meets this criteria buys the insurance for you.

What is the hospital network like?

There are 19 main hospitals in Estonia which are funded by the EHIF (Health Insurance Fund). There are also over 20 private hospitals which have different levels of agreements with the state for providing services.

The Hospital Network is a list of regional, central, general, local, rehabilitation and nursing hospitals to ensure universal access to specialised medical care in the whole country. It consists of 19 hospitals.